RSS

Taco Bell turns Canada’s Doritos anger into a plus

29 Aug

doritos-loco-tacoThe big news of the week has to be that a long-awaited American product is finally making its way north. Verizon cellphones? Heck no. It’s Taco Bell’s Doritos Locos Tacos, which will be available in Canada as of Sept. 2.

Even better is the particularly ingenious marketing campaign attached to the tacos. A good number of Canadians – including yours truly – have been fuming for nearly two years over the inexplicable unavailability of the hugely popular product north of the border. The chain decided to turn that veritable anger into a plus by making some complainers eat their words, literally.

As the video spot below shows, Taco Bell brought in a few individuals who had posted angry comments on social media, then presented them with Doritos tacos that had those comments etched in with a laser. The result, predictably, was chuckles:

To be honest, I’m a little hurt I wasn’t included. I’ve driven to Buffalo to try Cool Ranch Doritos tacos, suggested that Canada should adopt a national taco strategy, and even made my own Doritos nachos. Where’s the reciprocated love, Taco Bell?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 29, 2013 in taco bell

 

2 responses to “Taco Bell turns Canada’s Doritos anger into a plus

  1. trixxiii

    August 29, 2013 at 2:56 am

    YEAH I can hardly wait – i too made my own after i read your article and heard you made your own. Gives me something to look forward to – like the first day of school again LOL I feel like a kid again! ty Peter LOL

     
  2. Sabin

    August 30, 2013 at 5:17 am

    lol I actually had to drive to Plattsburg from Montreal just to try one.

     
 
