RSS

Coca-Cola and the lighter side of PRISM

27 Jun

I caught an ad for Coca-Cola in the movie theatre the other day and I’m not quite sure to make of it. I can’t figure out what message the spot is going for, other than to perhaps show the lighter side of surveillance, in which case I don’t know what that has to do with soft drinks.

With the ongoing controversy regarding the U.S. National Security Agency spying on people without any cause or warrants, I’m also not sure if the ad is incredibly poorly timed, or the exact opposite.

Here’s the ad. Is anyone else as confused as I am?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 27, 2013 in advertising, privacy

 

2 responses to “Coca-Cola and the lighter side of PRISM

  1. Marc Venot

    June 27, 2013 at 12:22 am

    It’s a call for your subconscious that you may go nutty under the influence of a soft drink.

     
  2. mcfudge

    June 27, 2013 at 9:43 am

    i think all it did was make me angry about coke too, maybe even more angry since the whole spot seems to dismiss and trivialize the real issue. now i will forever have the image burned in my mind that coke equals unlawful surveillance. wonderful. on the note of coke, have you seen the incredible Honest Coca-Cola Obesity commercial? I can’t believe it’s endorsed by Coke but it was really fun to watch https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bHhCP5ad-zM

     
 
