RSS

A big Mahalo to technology in paradise

18 Jan
This may be the best photo I've ever taken; twelve years ago, such shots weren't possible with my film camera.

The nicest photo I’ve ever taken? Twelve years ago I couldn’t take such shots with just my film camera.

Aloha from Hawaii, where the wife and I have been on vacation/honeymoon since the Consumer Electronics Show ended last week. There’s nothing quite like some time in heaven after a week in hell.

Speaking of which, I was thinking the other day of how the former can bring perspective to the latter. Driving along the Kuaia coast in our rented convertible, we were having about the best time imaginable, thanks in some part to the music piped through our car’s Bluetooth stereo system. Life really doesn’t get any better than riding through paradise with your hair blowing in the wind, with the sounds of Pearl Jam and Led Zeppelin in the background.

It brought me back to my last trip to Hawaii, about 12 years ago. I didn’t have a wife or convertible then, but I did have tunes in the car. The difference is, they were the result of my hauling a flip book full of CDs along in my luggage. Now, rather than dragging that heavy folder of eminently scratchable plastic halfway across the world, all of that same music is packed nicely into a tiny device that beams it wirelessly into the air. Needless to say, now is much, much better than then.

That thought brought to mind all the negative reader comments on the various stories I’d written from CES. Whether it was wireless appliances, larger televisions, robot cars or even smart forks, some readers inevitably remarked on how such things were useless, wasteful or silly.

I never do understand such reactions – if people really don’t like technology or see its future usefulness, why do they read stories about it?

For me, even the silliest technologies may some day end up being used in ways that make my vacation in paradise even more sublime. Ten years from now, I imagine our convertible will be self-driving enough to allow us to take pictures of Kuaia’s magnificent scenery while swerving along its winding roads.

Let the haters hate. I’m sending out a big “Mahalo” (thank you) to the inventors and entrepreneurs who have made our vacation/honeymoon that much more enjoyable.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 18, 2013 in robots

 

2 responses to “A big Mahalo to technology in paradise

  1. Marc Venot

    January 18, 2013 at 5:03 am

    Nice but we still need to be able to say “Beam me up Scotty”.

     
  2. Infostack

    January 18, 2013 at 9:02 am

    In 12 years, hopefully, you’ll be able to upload that (yes, gorgeous) picture instantly and quickly to your twitterstream/blogosphere. 4/5G coverage needs to become prevalent. Unfortunately, it won’t because of the failure of vertically integrated oligopolies. Rural parts of the world are information/networked starved. It doesn’t need to be that way; especially as your smartphone usage points to the obvious contrary.

     
 
