RSS

The declining effort of music interfaces

09 Nov

The other day, I was fiddling with the new Lynx car receiver from Sirius XM. My previous satellite radio receiver had a bunch of actual physical buttons on it, while the new device is all touch screen. That got me thinking about how interfaces have changed over the years and how they’re going to continue evolving, particularly in how we’re having to put less and less effort into listening to music.

Rather than expound on it, I made up this short graphic that I think explains it all:

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 9, 2012 in media

 

One response to “The declining effort of music interfaces

  1. Justin Amirkhani

    November 9, 2012 at 12:15 am

    I’ve always had a mild interest in doing a study about how having access to any song one desires listening to at a moment’s notice could alter mood.

    We all have a handful of songs that we like to listen to when we’re happy, sad, angry, or whatever, but I imagine if we still had to wait to hear it on the radio or had to wait until we got to our record players. Having access to any song you want at any point in time can have a great emotional impact, and I think this is the real reason for the success of MP3 players.

     
 
