RSS

Cellphone pain: not just for hipsters anymore

05 Oct

I recently started watching Portlandia, a show on IFC that spoofs hipster life in Portland. It’s a funny and often completely bizarre show where, if I’m not laughing, I’m scratching my head in wonder.

One of the best and funniest segments comes from the first season’s fourth episode, where stars Fred Armisen and Carrie Brownstein try to buy a cellphone. The hilarious bit has little to do with hipsters in Portland and everything to do with cellphone plans anywhere in North America. Check it out:

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 5, 2012 in mobile, telecommunications

 

One response to “Cellphone pain: not just for hipsters anymore

  1. We're not happy until you're not happy

    October 5, 2012 at 10:45 am

    Buyer: “Hi, I’d like a plan where the phone actually can make and receive intelligible calls without dropping them 30 seconds later, have text messages be sent in under 24 hours AND they are delivered to the other party, and make a data connection faster than 300 baud in your coverage area.”

    Clerk: “The closest plan we have is $200 per month for a 5-year contract but we can’t guarantee coverage.”

    Buyer: “So if it doesn’t work in my area, I just return the phone and cancel the plan?”

    Clerk: “Ha, ha, ha, that’s very funny sir. I said it’s a 5-year contract. You can buy out your contract for $25,000.”

    Buyer: “But, that’s more than twice the cost of the plan!”

    Clerk: “Yes sir, I know. This is a special offer for new customers only. The normal rate is $50,000.”

     
 
