RSS

Chapters/Indigo employees have good taste

24 Sep

As gung-ho as I am about the encroachment of e-books, one thing I’m not looking forward to is the inevitable decline of bookstores. Just as CDs seem to be the last thing HMV sells these days, I imagine it’ll be a similar situation with books in the not-too-distant future, given that the sales trajectory of e-books is growing much faster than digital music did.

I say this because I love bookstores. I love going to them and walking around aimlessly, open to whatever will catch my attention. I do this at least once a week at the huge Chapters store near the CBC building.

I was there yesterday and, what do you know, there’s Sex, Bombs and Burgers under the staff picks section:

That’s two Chapters/Indigo stores to pick my book in a week. If you haven’t bought it yet, do you need any more enticement? Come on – two Chapters employees can’t be wrong!

But seriously – thanks to Kern at this particular store for picking SB&B. There are of course digital equivalents to this sort of “staff pick,” but in this particular area you’ll have to forgive me if I’m somewhat opposed to future trends.

 
Comments Off on Chapters/Indigo employees have good taste

Posted by on September 24, 2010 in books, chapters

 

Comments are closed.

 
